We provide Construction and Engineering Insurance Solutions

How We Operate

Latest News

STB compliance process emerges as bottleneck for DTT

The extensive compliance processes instilled to regulate the manufacturing of the set-top boxes (STBs) required for South Africa’s migration to digital terrestrial television (DTT) have emerged as a serious weakness as industry gears up for the imminent and long-awaited launch. Currently, STBs are required to undergo three compliance processes undertaken by the country’s communications regulator Independent Communications Authority of South Africa (Icasa), the South African Bureau of Standards (SABS) and the National Regulator for Compulsory Specifications (NRCS) before distribution, explained South African Communications Forum (SACF) executive director Loren Braithwaite-Kabosha.

Honda’s Asimo robot advances to sign language, climbing stairs without stopping

Honda has unveiled the newest version of Asimo, its advanced humanoid robot, now featuring the ability to communicate in sign language and climb stairs without stopping. Asimo, which stands for Advanced Step in Innovative Mobility, was first introduced 14 years ago. Since then, engineers at the Japanese manufacturer have continued making improvements on the little guy, including physical advances, such as running and hopping on one leg, and dexterity improvements, all in aid of the company’s ...